Mississippi Marriage License

Mississippi Marriage License

Each county in MS has a clerical office, which issues Mississippi marriage licenses. As a rule, before visiting this place the parties should make an appointment. But sometimes they accept walk-ins, too. Parties need to fill in an entry blank form. After completing this form, you will receive the date and time of your appointment.

Here comes the application process. Both must apply in person, as it is mandatory. In case one has a special reason for not appearing (disability, imprisonment, etc.), there might be some exceptions. This process is quite easy. Partners have to fill out a ready-made application form but at the clerk’s office. In general, it is necessary to provide the following information on the blank form:

  • Name/surname
  • Place and date of birth
  • Current address
  • Mailing address
  • Telephone number
  • Occupation/job
  • Marital history
  • Social Security number

NOTE: if any of you have been divorced previously, they ought to submit a divorce decree at the clerical office. They should also provide the date of death, in case of the spouse’s death. The clerk may ask for a certified copy of those records. Parties will find them at the state’s or county’s vital records office.

In addition, if an applicant had a divorce recently, he/she does not have to wait to remarry as in the case of some other states. But be aware that some counties may also demand a divorce decree in this case.

From where and when can I get it?

Right after completing the application process, you have five days to give it back to the circuit court where it was issued. Therefore, the state or county official records your marriage and maintains that document at the Department of Vital Records.

There are special working hours in these agencies. The clerks are not allowed to issue that within that prohibited period. And if a clerk breaks the law, he/she is considered guilty of a crime. Otherwise, he/she has to pay $500 as a penalty.

In general, there is a mandatory three-day waiting period before you will get your license. In most cases, the day you applied is not counted within that waiting period. Nonetheless, weekends and national holidays are not included in the waiting period, as well. So technically, parties will get a notification.

Consequently, after three working days, you can pick it up at any time. Subsequently, you will have up to one month to get the signature of your wedding officiant.

How much does it cost?

A Mississippi marriage license costs $20-$50 in this state. Applicants ought to pay it at the time of application. This price may differ in some areas. You should pay by cash or card. In addition, it does not expire. So, you won’t need to renew it and pay for renewal again.

In addition to this, its certified copy may cost you $17. You can receive it from the Department of Health. If you want to obtain an additional copy, you need to pay $6 for each.

Civil Ceremonies

Now, many couples prefer to have civil ceremonies. These ceremonies may be held by:

  • Clerk of a circuit court
  • Ministers of the gospel (appointed in accordance with the rules of his church or society)
  • Clergymen or other religious leaders (appointed by a religious body to perform civil ceremonies)
  • Any judge from the Court of Appeals, the Supreme Court, chancery, or county court

The matrimony is void unless these requirements for a registrar haven’t been met.

In addition, there is no need to have two witnesses during the civil ceremony. In some cases, you might need only one witness just to sign the application. According to main conditions throughout the US, witnesses must be 21 years old or more.

In addition, some counties do not perform ceremonies. So, in case you wish to have a civil ceremony, you should first find out if yours allows them.

Special requirements

You should learn some special requirements before obtaining a wedding license. Although some of these requirements may differ in counties, each of them has its demands.

First, there are no blood requirements since July 1, 2012.

In Mississippi, the legal age is 21 years old. In addition, if both of the parties are younger, they can only marry with parental consent. The applicants should fill the application form submitting their full names, ages, addresses, etc.

If the applicant is under the age of twenty-one, he/she needs the consent of a parent or guardian. This means that a parent or guardian must submit written consent. That should state the approval of that union. The parent or the guardian ought to put his/her signature under it.

If a parent or guardian is not able to appear in the office, they have to complete the out-of-office parental consent form. They need to print it and fill it out. It must also be notarized.

In some parts, a male who is younger than 17 years old, and a female who is younger than 15 years old will NOT get a wedding license, as Mississippi law requires that.

Marriage Records

As a rule, the officials maintain marriage records. You can order a certified copy of the certificate from the Mississippi State Department of Health. You may either order them online by phone or appear in person at that place. For that, you should fill in the following application blank.

After finishing this form, you should attach also copies of the proof of identification of both parties. Therefore, you can submit your state-issued passport, birth certificate, or driver’s license. All the data is preserved in the state or county office of Vital Records. After applying, you will receive those records within 7-10 working days by mail.

Additional information

Same-sex marriages are allowed in Mississippi since July 2, 2015. In fact, there are other ones that are prohibited. You are NOT allowed to marry by proxy. For your information, the proxy is a type of marriage, when one of the parties is not able to be physically present.

It is also prohibited to marry the below-mentioned members of your family:

  • Grandmother/grandfather
  • Son/daughter
  • Brother/sister
  • Grandson/granddaughter
  • Stepson/stepdaughter
  • First cousin

In addition, common-law marriages are prohibited, too. For your information, it is a legally authorized union without purchasing a certificate.

NOTE: Both men and women have the right to change their names, adopt their spouse’s last name or simply maintain their full names. If you wish to change your name or surname after the wedding you should mention it while applying. You must submit the original copy of your marital certificate.

For more information, you can apply:

Mississippi State Department of Health

570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive
Jackson, MS 39216

Phone Number: 601-576-7981

Mari A

Mari A

Mari is a creative and self-motivated person. She is new in content writing, which she thinks improves knowledge and creativity skills. Mari is keen on learning different languages and for her every day is a new chance to learn more. She is responsible to handle multiple tasks on a daily basis.