The state of Mississippi is one of the several US states that recently legalized the use of medical weed. The Mississippi cannabis and marijuana license will give more details about the situation.
Governor Phil Bryant was the first official who put the basis in the lawful use of weed. He signed bill 1231 in 2014. It approved the use of cannabis for medical goals. The process was under the control of physicians. Still, the content of weed should not exceed 15% CBD and 0.5 % THC.
Real changes came into law in 2020. Electors adopted Initiative 65. So, it validates the medical cannabis program within the state. Compared with the previous act, this bill added several qualifying conditions. Hence, patients with ongoing pain, post-traumatic disorder can use weed for their health. The act allows the Mississippi Department of Health to head the registration. Along with this, it will give business and cultivator licenses. However, the department has no right to issue fees for cannabis licensees. The number of business licenses is also limited.
Still, there is no proper data about the official demands for different license types. Thus, it’s worth hiring experts to guide the way of the application process. Medical and dispensary license processes can be quite tricky. And the proper consulting group will handle the process.
The department will form final rules for medical, growers, as well as for dispensary licenses by August 15, 2021.
As it was stated above, registered patients can buy weed for their health state within the state. Hence, residents above 18 can get and keep cannabis under the doctor’s approval. The control of a parent or another caregiver is not needed. If the patients cannot apply for the program themselves or are under 18, they can assign a caregiver.
According to bill 65, patients can have not more than two and a half ounces of weed within every 14 days. People can use cannabis in the form of creams, lotions, topicals, edible products. There are 22 diseases that qualify for cannabis use.
The Department of Health asserted the following qualifying conditions. Patients with these diseases may apply and use cannabis as medicine.
The Health Department will also establish manuals for the registration of doctors. They should qualify patients with certain diseases. Final regulations for certified physicians are still in progress. Yet, according to the proposal, patients should have regular visits to the doctor. That will speed up the assessment of their condition. It’s worth mentioning that visits should be in person. No online or telephone sessions are approved.
Anyway, as a result of the COVID pandemic, the final law might be reviewed. The final act might allow online or telephone meetings.
Registered patients may use a legal quantity of weed only at their homes.
The use of up to thirty grams of weed or ten grams of synthetic cannabinoids is illegal. If non-non-registered people use them a criminal charge is available.
Law enforcement authorities may assign penalties of $100 to $250 for the first time. The cost of penalties will grow for further crimes.
The final act for the regulations of the Mississippi cannabis program is not in force. Still, we can suppose that it can issue an exchange program with some states. Those states approve non-resident medical cannabis cards.
States tagged with ˇ symbol means that patients should submit an application for nonresidents. They should mention the terms of their visit.
States tagged with ᾽ symbol forbid the use of medical weed for nonresidents:
Currently, there is no information about the caregiver program. The initial draft does not suppose any provisions about it. But, we know that instructions for guardians are included in medical card programs.
The application forms.
The state institution demands that you present a signed proof from the doctor. Along with it, you should provide other documents as well. ID
Here is the collusion of valid forms these papers may have.
You must attach this to the application of your medical weed card. Without it, the application won’t be complete.
The only available type of license for cannabis operation is a dispensary license. It is otherwise called the medical cannabis treatment center’s license. No cultivator’s or grower’s license is approved by the state legislature.
Mississippi’s department of health regulates all the licensing procedures. Even so, the state of Mississippi has no certain instructions for dispensary license applicants. Still, anyone can submit open applications. As the weed market is one of the most rapidly growing markets, any changes might happen. The initial registration will ease the further application process.
A dispensary license allows people to open growing and retail centers, testing labs. Here patients can buy a certain amount of cannabis legally.
The permissible age of a dispensary owner should be over 21 years old. The law also requires that a Mississippi resident should own at least 25 percent of the company’s shares.
Act 65 states that the number of dispensary licenses is not limited. But, each entity should match with the demands for the degree.
One of the main conditions to get a business cannabis license is to have proper capital. Cannabis is a very popular product among state residents. Anyway, it’s quite hard to get funding for a dispensary. A regular bank will never fund you to open a dispensary in the state. That’s because only a certain amount of cannabis is legal in Mississippi.
This means you can only rely on your personal savings. Another option is to find investors who will back the project on their own. The first option is not useful as some drugstores cost billions of dollars.
The standard fee for opening a dispensary is between $150000 to two million. Agree that even $150000 is a big amount to invest.
The best way to involve an investor in your business is to prove its success. Thus, an investor will be glad to fund if he knows you will give him back on investment. Another important point is the quality of cannabis. Your provider should be reliable enough. That’s because the high quality of any product is necessary. The department will hold regular inspections to check it.
Thus try to develop trustful relations with your partners. It will ensure you an open contact and safe partnership.
Establishing good relationship with your supplier is important, too. It provides an open line of conversation and might even position you to receive better deals down the line.
State authorities also demand that you have trained and competent specialists. This means certain training for the patients’ welfare, health, bud tending, and safety.
It will ensure a professional and competent attitude to their position and patient service. Medical weed centers must be at least 500meters away from churches, schools, or daycare centers.
The license fee for medical weed dispensaries is 15000. It is non-refundable and is valid for one year period. Many US states demand that dispensaries also give information about their products. That supposes tracking, reporting, and registry control over their products. The treatment centers should open up where they buy products from. Sailors should also add component names, date of arrival, and details about themselves.
People who want to set up a dispensary in Mississippi should take into account some points. The initial registration is through the Secretary of State’s Office. The registration supposes that people choose a NAICS code. If the company wants to get a license within the Medical cannabis program, certain codes are available. Those are 424590, 453998 111998, and 111419.
Furthermore, To complete the application, they should prepare the following documents.
A certificate that proves the ownership of any location for the dispensary center. It might be proof of Land possession, a leasing agreement, a lien’s document.
According to the law, sailers should give 7% of their benefits to the state budget. Besides, local counties may demand an extra 1% tax. The government will invest taxes into medical cannabis programs.